gugljuicy.blogg.se

Old cream pie
Old cream pie














After combining the ingredients, I placed it in the microwave (thanks for the idea!). I did use the other reviewers suggestions (1 & 1/2 of half & half and 1 & 1/2 of coconut milk instead of 3 cups of half & half 1/2 cup of corn starch instead of 1/2 flour 1 teaspoon of coconut extract instead of 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract). This is the first time I made a pie (any pie) and it turned out perfect. I am making three of these pies for Thanksgiving instead of buying them as I usually do. Want a different flavor? I used the same recipe, left out all the coconut, and coconut extract, added 4 oz of good quality melted semi sweet chocolate, (I used Ghirradelli) for a lovely chocolate pie. I used just regular coconut for the filling and toasted for the top. If I have made pie as good as the Amish I feel I have really accomplished something. My husband, who is a coconut pie connoisseur, loved it and said it was better or equal to any pie anywhere and that included Bob Evans and the Das Essenhaus Amish restaurant in Middlebury, Indiana his two favorite places for coconut pie. My changes were, like others, I used 1/3 c corn starch instead of flour, I used 1 tsp coconut extract for more coconut taste, and cooked it on a double boiler, whisking instead of stirring with a spoon, made it faster and no burning or scorching! It only took about 15 minutes and thickened quickly. I whipped it up today in no time at all with a refrigerated Pillsbury crust, which I feel is the best tasting crust, bar none. This is a truly superior "cream" pie recipe. Just keep whisking! I should add I used a regular pot to cook it in and after pouring into the crust, it sat in the fridge overnight before I put the topping on. Once it comes to a boil on low heat (once the bubbles break through, and it will take a little bit) its done.

old cream pie

It will be about 25 minutes, but you'll feel it start to thicken up. It will impress for sure! My tip for making the filling, think of Dory from 'Finding Nemo', just keep whisking, just keep whisking. Honestly the whole pie took about an hour to make, with very little effort.

#Old cream pie cracker

I also made my own whipped topping (1 carton of whipping cream, 2 tablespoons confectioners' sugar, and 1 teaspoon coconut extract.) Also made the very simple 'Graham Cracker Crust' submitted by Janaan Cunningham here on Allrecipes. I used flour instead of the 'suggestions' of using cornstarch with great results.

old cream pie

In my version that I'll be keeping in my recipe book I halved the half-and-half and used 1 1/2 cups of coconut milk instead, which brings out that coconut flavor for sure. It tastes like the ones you get at restaurants, but fresher, more decadent and sublimely rich. Scroll through to find your new favorite meatball recipe. And even though serving meatballs over spaghetti is an American invention, there's no better way to enjoy these tasty meatballs than doused in marinara over a bed of pasta. These recipes will mostly follow that structure, sometimes with an added twist. An Italian meatball typically contains ground meat, specifically beef, garlic, eggs, parsley, and sometimes cheese. So all that changes today with these 10 outrageously delicious Italian meatball recipes that you won't be able to resist trying. Our 10 Best Italian Meatball Recipes for All Your Spaghetti Dinner Needs If you aren't making your own meatballs for spaghetti, subs, or soup, you're truly missing out.














Old cream pie